Make Publication Quality Graph in R Programming

Data scraping to data cleaning to data pre-processing to making plots to exporting in multiple formats. Everything in Rstudio.

By Kundan K. Rao in R Visualization

January 26, 2022

Isn’t the subtitle seems great?

Enjoy the conversation:-

Q. Hey! what do you do?
A. Anything with the data.

Q. Great! Do you do data visualization?
A. Yeah! With data from any sector. (Thanks to #ggplot2)

Q. Publishing quality?
A. Yeah! for book, web, journal, anything. (Thanks to #rmarkdown #pandoc #tinytex)

Q. I have data on a few websites. Should I share that? Can you download/scrape that?
A. Yeah, please share the URL. (Thanks to #readr, #readxl, #rvest).

Q. Actually, data on the website contains the values in different units and there are a lot of other variables. Can you clean that?
A. That’s my job. I will clean the data set as you wish. (Thanks to #dplyr, #lubridate and #tidyverse )

Q. Thank you very much. I need a map also showing the values for a different region of this XYZ county. Do you do that?
A. Thanks for letting me know that. I will do that as well. (Thanks to #tmap, #leaflet, #sf, #ggplot2)

Q. In which format do you provide the graphs? png, tiff?
Q. Any format! as you wish! (Thanks to #grDevices)

Q. I need to publish the graphs on some digital platform too. So, do you provide SVG, too?
A. Of course! let me know your requirements!

Q. Awesome! Can you provide the pixel and resolution (dpi) as specified?
Q. Of course! Let me know your specification. (Again thanks to #grDevices)

Q. Can you please show me a quick sample? How the plot will look?
A. Yeah sure. (Thanks to #esquisse, #shiny)

Q. Hey, the plot looks great. Can you please write data values on the bars, make the axis text a little more clear, change the font of all the text, remove the background of the ligand, move ligand here (tick mark), etc etc.
A. Just a few minutes please! (thanks to #ggplot2, #fontextra, #scales)

Q. This looks great! Can you show me a few more varieties?
A. Ok. Just a minute. Let me show you different professional themes. (Thanks to #ggthemes)

Q. Wow! That’s it, man! Thanks a lot for such an amazing job. Please send the files.
A. Ok. Thank you very much!

Q. These are some amazing works. I like this two. Can you send me both?
A. Yeah! No issue! Just a minute!

Q. Thank you very much for this amazing work. One thing I wanted to ask is, Can I reproduce the plots in the future for updated data?
A. Yeah! Please let me know when the new data is available. I will reproduce these plots in a few minutes. exactly as it is. (Thanks to #rlanguage and #RStudio)

Q. That’s really, amazing! Thanks a lot, man. Sure, I would like to reproducible these plots for updated data. See you then. Thank you.
A. Thank you, too.🍹🍹

So, did you understand how handy RStudio and R programming language could be for your research and for making publication-quality graphs😊.
Got any other questions regarding making publication-quality graphs? Feel free to leave your comments. I will explore the possibilities and will answer your queries.
I will soon post a follow-up post showing the technical process (codes) of doing the things explained here. Stay connected.
If you like my post, consider following me on medium. You can also follow me on Linkedin (here).

Thanks for visiting! Keep learning!

Posted on:
January 26, 2022
Length:
3 minute read, 556 words
Categories:
R Visualization
Tags:
Publication Graphs
See Also: